Virtual web development

March 13, 2008 at 11:05 am Leave a comment

Recently, I was hired to complete a website for a client. The site was hosted in a Linux/Apache environment and involved a MySQL database. Since I mostly do .NET/IIS web programming, I thought this would be a fun project.

Using Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 (running on my main machine) I created an XP SP2 virtual machine with 1GB of RAM and a standard 16GB disk. To make my XP machine a web server I added the IIS Windows Component and tested it by browsing to localhost. I then installed PHP 5.2.5, MySQL Server 5.0, MYSQL Tools, and phpMyAdmin. For graphics editing I installed Paint.NET; for HTML and PHP file editing I installed HTML-KIT; and for FTP transfer to the web host I installed FileZilla. To make sure my new web dev machine was backed up I installed the Windows Home Server Connector and added it to my WHS client backup schedule.

Worked like a champ.

Entry filed under: Development, Software, Technology.

More 64 bit goodness Winsock2 corruption problem/solution

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


