New PC – the 64 Bit update

September 30, 2007 at 7:57 pm Leave a comment

OK, the data drive arrived and is installed. I redirected all of my folders to point to D:\ DATA (here’s how, if you’re interested) and started installing things like Office, developer tools, etc. I found full 64-bit drivers for my HP Deskjet 6840 and my Canon CanoScan 4200F so all my hardware is 64-bit. So far all software is installing fine on 64 bit Vista Ultimate. except, ironically, the current Windows Live Writer (beta3) and the Windows Home Server connector software. Sigh. They’re both ‘coming soon’ so I’ve installed beta1 on Live Writer and am just going to wait for the WHS connecter.

Have I mentioned why I’ve gone 64 bit with the new hardware? Well, I blame it all on RAM. 32 bit versions of any OS only address 4GB of RAM (and not even all of the 4GB.) I need lots of RAM to run the virtual machines I use to prototype client solutions, test service packs, evaluate OSes, test interoperability, for training, demos, and more. So, I got a motherboard that would hold 8GB of RAM and filled it up. Now I’ve got plenty of RAM to give out to virtual machines. Putting the .VHD files on a separate spindle (D:\DATA) from their .VMC files (C:\OS) makes them even faster.

Works for me. 

Entry filed under: Hardware, Software, Tech Adventures.

New PC – the waiting game Windows Server 2008 RC0

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


