I hate iTunes.

July 5, 2007 at 8:07 pm 4 comments

A lot.

I was burning a new MP3 CD for the car today and thought it would be great to put some of my newly ripped CDs on my iPod. No problem, right?

I couldn’t get iTunes to recognize the new stuff and (since I don’t use iTunes as my default media player) it didn’t recognize the \Music folder changes that had happened since the last time I ran iTunes. As a result I had no listings for the new stuff and multiple listings for some of the old stuff.

Sigh.

I used iTunes to delete the stuff on my iPod (via the magically syncing playlist thingy) and then uninstalled it, thinking I could just use the iPod as USB device. But no.

Even though I removed the songs from the iPod it still contained a playlist of songs it ‘thought’ were there. I couldn’t find (through increasingly angry outbursts on my part) a way to delete any of the ‘imaginary’ songs or a playlist with the click-wheel.

So, I reinstalled iTunes, hoping it could save me from just junking iPod and getting a Zen or something.

Almost the first dialog iTunes showed me was a warning that Outlook was running and if I wanted to leave it running I should probably restart Outlook after iTunes was installed. At first I found it pretty weird, then I remembered that the iPod has a Contacts feature that will sync with Outlook.

Does anybody really use their iPod to keep track of their Contacts?

Entry filed under: Music, Software, Technology.

New patriotic song A little off topic.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jason  |  July 5, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    I’m probably the only person in the world without an ipod. I never caught on to itunes either. Once I start doing more outside this summer I will probably find something to play my tunes.

    Reply
  • 2. Greg  |  July 5, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    How did you resist? One of the most ubiqutous and iconic devices of the last century. And yet, I don’t use mine very often. When biking I’d rather not have any ‘buds’ in my ears lest I get some tree’s buds in ’em.

    Reply
  • 3. mando  |  July 6, 2007 at 8:17 am

    The Zune is starting to sound more appealing to me. It’s not an iPod, the price is dropping, it comes in a Halo variety, and it might even sync with Outlook.

    The only thing I like about iTunes player is the Party mode, but I don’t think it makes iTunes worth using.

    My little Creative 1GB MuVo player has worked well enough so far.

    Reply
  • 4. Greg  |  July 6, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Stick with the MuVo until someone makes a good phone/MP3 player.

    Wait, I think read something about that recently…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


