Halo 2, now with achievements!

June 8, 2007 at 11:04 pm 4 comments

Halo® 2As many people know, the games in the Halo series are the defining games for Xbox. For story arc, playability, and the multiplayer experience (Halo on the PC and Halo 2 on Xbox Live) each version of Halo has been the first game to show what the Xbox can do.

With the release of the Xbox 360, in-game achievements became the way to compare yourself with other players. While Halo 2 is playable on the 360, there aren’t any achievements. Sure, you can play some epic multiplayer games and make friends over Live, but you don’t get any achievements. And achievements are what drives my gameplaying these days.

Halo® 2 for Windows VistaWith the release of Halo 2 for Windows Vista at the end of last month, I can finally earn achievements for my Halo 2 play. Or course I did need to buy the Wireless Gaming Receiver (a USB device not unlike the wireless keyboard and mouse receiver) to use my Xbox 360 wireless controller with the game. And I couldn’t use the XP drivers that shipped with the device on my Vista PC (get the Vista drivers here.)

But I finally got it all working tonight and I have the achievements to show for it.

Entry filed under: Gaming.

Greg’s Links #6 Life’s little moments

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mando  |  June 9, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Awesome, though I’m surprised you went the controller route instead of keyboard and mouse.

    I’ll go check your Achievements now because I’m jealous.

    Reply
  • 2. Greg  |  June 9, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    I tired, but there are too many key cobminations for me to remember to use the keyboard.

    Reply
  • 3. Greg  |  June 9, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    I meant combinations. Just want to make that clear.

    Reply
  • 4. mando  |  June 10, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    oh, yeah, I was confused, lol.

    You do well on Halo 1 with kb+m, so I think you are just trying to get good with the controller before Halo 3 is ready for the 360.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


