Vista reversal?

March 7, 2007 at 7:26 pm 1 comment

So, it’s been a while since I Windows Vista Ultimateconverted my main PC to Vista. How’s it been going?

Vista has run every program I’ve tried to install on it, except one which I later found out I was several versions behind on. Here’s what I’ve currently got running:

  • Acrobat 7.0 Standard
  • Acrobat Reader 8.0
  • Belarc Advisor
  • Microsoft Money 2006
  • Microsoft PhotoDraw 2.0
  • Microsoft Windows Live Messenger
  • Microsoft Windows Live Writer (beta)
  • avast! Antivirus
  • Blackberry Desktop
  • Canon drivers and tools for the scanner
  • HP drivers and tools for the printer
  • CrossLoop
  • flickr uploader
  • Google Earth
  • Handy Backup
  • HTML-Kit
  • ImgBurn
  • Kyodai Mahjongg 2006
  • Halo for the PC (very important… still)
  • Microsoft wireless KB and mouse software
  • Microsoft Office 2007 Professional
  • Microsoft Office Visio 2007
  • Microsoft Office Accounting 2007
  • Microsoft Outlook Business Contact Manager 2007
  • Microsoft SQL 2005
  • NeoSmart Easy BCD
  • Orban aacPlus plugin
  • Pandora Browse
  • Passware
  • ISOBuster
  • CounterSpy
  • Thingamablog
  • TurboTax
  • QuickTime
  • Shockwave plugin
  • Flash plugin

And they’re all running just fine.

But still, average CPU usage is a little less than on my last XP build while RAM usage is more, 2% and 60% as I write this with Outlook 2007, IE7 with two tabs (Gmail and Reader), and Word 2007 running.

Vista does lose track of my desktop icons and randomly rearranges them from time to time. And either Virtual Server 2005 or Virtual PC 2007 take way too much RAM when running a single VM, about as much as the three server VMs I ran at the same time under XP. I still have to keep an XP VM around for client questions and writing documentation. There aren’t many useful (to me) Sidebar gadgets. I don’t really mind the UAC, it rarely pops up now the PC is built.

Vista sure is pretty and I do like the new games, but I might reverse the playing field on this PC and run Vista in a VM on XP.

I’m thinking about it.

Entry filed under: Software, Tech Adventures.

Vista on-screen volume indicator Bicycle stunts

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mrinal  |  March 8, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Great to see CrossLoop running on your Vista Greg! We love it and a big thanks from this small team.
    Please let me know if you have any questions.
    Would recommend subscribing to our blog for new releases – we are working on some exciting stuff.
    Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


