Vista on-screen volume indicator

March 3, 2007 at 7:18 pm Leave a comment

Wow, that’s a sexy title, eh? Anywho, I’m currently using a MS wireless keyboard and mouse. I’m one of those It folks that tries to use the default  Windows drivers – when available – for all of my hardware. I think it just makes sense to use what MS provides and not clutter up the PC’s environment with 3rd-party drivers and all the ‘features’ that are inevitably included. Are you listening Adobe, Apple, HP, Sun, etc? After I upgraded to Vista I no longer had any on-screen volume indicator when using the keyboard volume control. Petty, I know. But annoying just the same. So I decided to load the MS IntelliType Pro and IntelliPoint Pro software to get the on-screen display functionality back and also be able to get battery level warnings back – so I didn’t lose keyboard power in middle of doing some system documentation again. Not that that actually happened. Recently. I checked to see if there’s a new Vista-specific version available and there is – IntelliType 6.1 and IntelliPoint 6.1 – in either 32bit or 64bit flavors. You can get them here if you need ’em. Worked like a charm:

All is well now.

Entry filed under: Software, Tech Adventures.

50 states in 10 minutes Vista reversal?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


