I want my menu bar… on the top

February 16, 2007 at 8:38 pm 1 comment

When I first ‘upgraded’ to IE7 it was disconcerting to find that the menu bar was gone. Well, not really gone just not enabled by default. What a weird decision by someone – OK, probably a team of someones – to turn off access to the familiar File, Edit, View, Favorites, Tools, and Help toolbar. By default, even. It looks like this:

Of course, it’s not too hard to get it back, just right-click just to the right of your last Tab, high light Menu Bar and left-click. Now it looks like this:

It’s still not ‘right’ to my eyes, though. The menu bar should be on top, where it’s always been. Here’s a registry hack to fix it:

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar\WebBrowser]
“ITBar7Position”=dword:00000001

Copy the above to a text file on your desktop and save it as IE7_menu_fix.reg. The .reg extension is important. Double-click the .reg file, click Yes and click OK. Close IE7 and open it again.

Looks good to me:

Entry filed under: Software, Technology.

A conspiracy of maroons Virtually fast

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mando  |  February 27, 2007 at 12:22 am

    I compromised and placed my Yahoo! toolbar on the second row, next to my menu bar. It took some getting used to. I never thought to try tweaking things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


