Vista prep

January 17, 2007 at 8:19 pm Leave a comment

Messed about with the desktop PC today, getting ready for the conversion to Vista. Doing exactly what, you ask?

Well, I removed the partitions I had set up for the Linux experiment (don’t ask) and the Vista Betas and added the 100GB back to the C: drive. The Acronis Disk Director Suite made the process easy, though it’s still a bit nerve-wracking. Acronis has never let me down though.

A while back I noticed that my Seagate external disk had come formatted as FAT32, so today I took all the data off the drive, formatted it as NTFS, and put the data back. I’m sure data access is faster now, even though my backups run in the middle of the night. It’s the thought that counts.

I downloaded the Vista RTM .ISO from TechNet and went to burn it to a DVD. My standard program for dealing with all things .ISO is ISO Recorder. It does a great job of expanding or creating .ISO images. Unfortunately (and ironically) only the Vista edition supports DVD burning. The Vista .ISO is 2.5 GB and should be burned to a DVD. Yes, of course I could go back and download the 5-CD version of Vista, but where’s the fun in that? Luckily I also have CDBurner XP Pro, another excellent tool for handling .ISO images and it supports DVD.  The only reason I default to using ISO Recorder is it nicely installs itself an option on the right-click file menus. So after I went out and got a spindle of DVDs, I burned my Vista install DVD.

Now the only thing left to do was run the Windows Vista Upgrade Advisor and see what hardware I was going to have trouble with.

Vista Upgrade Advisor 0

 

Yay, I passed!

Vista Upgrade Advisor 1

 

Although it does look I’ll have to track down some Vista drivers for my scanner and the NVIDIA sound card on the mobo. I can handle that.

Vista Upgrade Advisor 2

I got a few software warnings too, but since I haven’t decided whether to upgrade or do a BMI (Bare Metal Install) I’m not too worried. Virus protection and OEM Nero cd burning software need to be uninstalled before upgrading and apparently the XP Power Toys I’m running may have some problems with Vista. I loves me my Power Toys so I guess I need to find some Vista Power Toys, or check the installed toolset and see what’s there.

Entry filed under: Hardware, Review, Software, Tech Adventures.

Loading automatically Endo, OTB, flying W

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


