Lock-On Grips

December 18, 2006 at 9:43 am 2 comments

I just installed some of these on my bike:

I replaced the Moab Lock On grips that have been on the bike for about 2,000 miles and looked like it.

Disclaimer: I didn’t install the last set of grips, so this was going to be new to me, but how hard could it be? Sorry no pictures of the operation, it was darn cold in the garage this morning and I really just wanted to ride. I’m trying to pass on a few tips here and get this written down so next time I install a set of Lock Ons, I’ll remember what I just ‘learned’.

Disassembly:

I removed the bar end plug, and then the bar ends (yes, I still run bar ends – the LP Carbon Braids), then I dug out a 2.5 mm Allen wrench and loosened the collars of the grips and slid them off the bars. I got a small flat blade screwdriver and pried the collars off the old grips.

Assembly:

First I tried to put the collars on the new grips by getting one end started and then leaning on the grip to get the other end seated on the tab. It worked, but only after many tries. Then I had a brilliant (for me) idea and put a long screwdriver into the hole of the grip for leverage to pop the collar onto the grip. Then I installed the collars on the new grips several times before I figured out which way the logo was supposed to go (toward the rider) and which way the collar screws should go (inboard screw facing the rider and outboard screw facing the trail).

I just got back from my first ride with them. Much better grip with a slightly tacky feel and they look cool, too.

It was 19º F out when I went riding today. It’s so much fun crunching down the trail through the frozen moisture in the dirt and then watching the steam rise from your body when you stop at the top of a hill.

Entry filed under: Hardware, Mountain Biking, Review.

Merry Christmas from Tehachapi like mcgyver, but for food

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mando  |  December 19, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    impressive.

    Reply
  • 2. Matt  |  December 26, 2006 at 11:06 pm

    All this talk about riding makes me want to go again…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


