It doesn’t get very cold in the OC

December 1, 2006 at 10:15 pm 5 comments

Frozen stream

At least compared to here in Tehachapi. Still, I wanted to head out on my mountain bike in the sunny 40º weather this morning for a ride. So, I got out my old ‘cold weather’ gear from when I lived in the OC (jacket, thicker socks, and sort-of-insulated gloves).

As long as I practiced the usual ‘I’m-not-really-dressed-for-this’ riding protocol*, I was OK. Chilly, but OK.

Not to worry, I’ve ordered some actual cold weather riding gear so I can ride when it really gets cold.

 

* Ride uphill at the start of the ride because that will warm you up. Ride downhill only after you’ve got some heat going. Ride known routes because this is not a time for exploring, it’s a survival situation. Avoid shady spots and stay in the sun. Ignore your toes, they’ll thaw out in the post-ride shower.

Entry filed under: Mountain Biking, Photography.

Rainbow Falls A personal mountain biking history

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  December 1, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    Unfortunately, I don’t mountain bike. I walk. Or run. Sigh…

    Reply
  • 2. BikeBum  |  December 2, 2006 at 11:49 am

    Yes, riding in cold weather takes a little getting use too. …and that’s good advice to start out on a climb to warm up first…
    For me I live in Golden Hills on the foothills and every ride starts with a downhill for a short distance and I have a tendency to over dress and shred the extra just a little into the ride.
    But yesterday was perfect, I had an early doctor’s appointment and took the day off from work. I left for my appointment around 8:30 am on my bike.
    Layering is the key, I was wearing an undershirt, Long Sleeve Jersey, opted for the vest rather than the jacket, long fingered gloves, full length cold weather bike tights over my Bike shorts, wool socks and toe covers for the shoes.
    Was comfortable when the wind was at my back, and/or warm to almost hot while climbing up say, Oak Creek Pass. I would shed the vest during climbs…. And for me, being able to pull the long sleeves to my elbows helps me regulate my body temp too.
    For the downhill and the headwind all the way home I don the vest again and pull the sleeves down.
    Stopping at the Bakery for coffee and Danish doesn’t hurt either…..

    I know this probably just common sense to you… but really I just want to say that I enjoyed my ride yesterday……

    Reply
  • 3. BikeBum  |  December 2, 2006 at 12:11 pm

    ….Oh and Nice Photos by the way…..

    Reply
  • 4. greg  |  December 2, 2006 at 12:44 pm

    I’ve been partway up Oak Creek, taking windmill pictures. I remember coming back down. I was going just under 40 mph (on knobby tires) and the wind was blowing from the west so hard that I was leaning sideways into to it to keep from getting blown over. Oh, did I mention the wind was gusting? So at random (to me) times I had to straighten back up or crash. Fun stuff.

    I should probably make it a point to ride to the top next time.

    -Greg

    Reply
  • 5. BikeBum  |  December 2, 2006 at 1:26 pm

    40 mph on knobbys is pretty fast for the front side of Oak Creek pass.
    Oak Creek Pass is my usual training or pleasure ride…
    Often I’ll ride over and down to Cameron Road…..
    Fastest I’ve ever gotten on a Road Bike was going down the farside of Oak Creek Pass at 57 MPH.
    I don’t go that fast very often if I can help it….. But I ride with younger men as a whole and sometimes you just can’t let the young’ens get the best of you…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


