MTB Parts Review

November 20, 2006 at 8:20 pm 1 comment

After battling with thorns in my front tube of my bike for the past few rides and also noticing that it was time for some new tires, I did some research looking for mountain bike tires that were smooth rolling on pavement and still worked well in typical SoCal trail conditions.

Based on reviews (from here and here) I chose the Maxxis CrossMark. I ordered the tires from JensonUSA, the price was competitive and I already had an account there. I also picked up some Slime tire liners to help with the winter thorns up here.

Tires. tubes, slime

I unfolded the tires, unpacked the new tubes and tire liners. I put the tubes and liners in the tires, put about 10 lbs of air in each one and let them lay in the sun for a while to convince the tires to be round, not folded.

The CrossMarks were easy to put on the rims without tools. I had to pump them up to about 50 PSI before they seated all the way on my Mavic CrossMax UST rims. (Yes, I run regular tires with tubes on my UST rims… works for me.) I backed them down to 38 PSI front and 40 PSI rear for riding.

Tires and tubes installed

Riding impressions: smooth and fast on the street and on hardpack. Hooked up really well on loose uphills, stayed hooked up on ‘side of the ditch’ line changes. They seemed really fast on the long downhill singletrack I ride and tracked straight and true on the rock-covered railroad right of way.

I’m very pleased with this setup and recommend it to other cross country riders. Especially those who need to ride on some asphalt to get to singletrack.

Entry filed under: Hardware, Mountain Biking, Review.

Another Way To Do Craigslist Busy Day, So Here’s A Picture

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. notastute » Blog Archive » Mud and batteries  |  January 11, 2007 at 9:36 am

    […] Luckily the muddy part was on a fire road as I came back down the hill, not on the singletrack. As you can see, the Maxxis CrossMark tires (original review here) aren’t good in the slick stuff. They packed up really fast, actually. When I got to the bottom I used a short pine branch to remove most of the mud. I’ll let the rest of the mud dry and then clean it up and lube everything. I wasn’t too concerned about mud clearance when I bought this frame, obviously. Of course I was running 1.95 tires then, not the 2.10 I have on now. I also replaced the batteries in and realigned my Cateye Wireless 7 bike computer. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


