Vista tales…

September 27, 2006 at 8:08 pm 1 comment

I decided to install Virtual Server 2005 Enterprise R2 Beta 2 (VS 2005) on my Vista partition so I could build a couple of Windows 2003 Standard (W2K3) servers and install the Microsoft Office Sharepoint Server 2007 (MOSS2007) and the Groove 2007 servers. I fired up the install and it wanted to have IIS installed. So I went to install IIS and you know what, it’s different than it used to be. That’s to be expected I suppose, but I’ve been installing and configuring IIS on W2K3 and Xp for what, 5 years now? OK, so I figure out how (mostly where) and get it installed and then setup continues. Setup completes normally and I try to open the VS2005 admin page but IE wants to know if I want to open or save this file. OK, so IIS isn’t allowing executables to run from http. In W2K3 or XP it was just a checkbox on the web site properties page, but not anymore. Oh, no. I figured it out eventually, but I’m writing this from the XP partition so I’ll have to update this post after I get back in to Vista.

Entry filed under: Tech Adventures.

20 free ways to save energy Of alignments and endlinks

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


