Windows Vista Pre RC1 (part 2)

September 14, 2006 at 10:57 pm Leave a comment

Industry Testing of Windows Vista Release Candidate 1 BeginsWell, I jumped back into it. This time I didn’t boot from the DVD, instead I ran setup from auto run while in XP. After the install completed (and it was actually quite fast. I think Vista is even faster than a clean install of XP SP2 now… espcially if you factor in all the updates) I immediately installed and ran VistaBootPro. Vista does away with boot.ini (or ignores it, really) and uses a boot configuration and storage system called Boot Configuration Data (BCD); and a new boot option editing tool, BCDEdit (BCDEdit.exe). Since bcdedit is command line tool and new I wanted a GUI, that’s what VistaBootPRO does for me. Anyway, Vista had in fact played nice with the XP install and I have a choice at boot. I then installed PC-Cillin (could they have a stupider name?), the Office 2007 Beta 2 (I found out today the Technical Refresh is due soon… oh well), .Net Framework 3.0 beta, and MicrosoftMax. Good stuff.

Entry filed under: Tech Adventures.

Want to publish a one page ‘zine? Matchsticks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Flickr Photos


